GOVERNMENT 103

departments and outside specialists to appear to give detailed information and advice on the subject concerned. Bills are given three readings and require the assent of the Commissioner before they become law as ordinances of the Territory. The Commissioner can reserve assent to legislation but rarely does so. As with provincial legislation, the federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. New ordinances are published after each session: consolidated ordinances of the Yukon Territory are usually revised every 10 years.

The role of the federal government. Direct federal involvement in the affairs of the territorial government extends from control of its constitution to responsibility for the operation of certain provincial-type services and for providing most of its finances. Beyond these special services, the federal government provides the usual range of national services such as the operation of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation radio stations, mail delivery and mainline airports. Full assistance under all national welfare programs is available in the Territory. Even with special financial assistance in many particular areas, the low volume of local revenues falls far short of meeting the high cost of services provided by the territorial government. The federal government picks up this financial deficit through annual fiscal arrangements known as Federal-Territorial Financial Agreements. The amount of federal financial assistance given to the territorial government is simply the difference between the forecast of revenues available to the territorial-government and the forecast of the cost of a reasonable level of services to be provided by that government. In return, the territorial government forgoes any exercise of its authority to tax private and corporate incomes and to collect other corporation taxes and succession duties.

Apart from special accounts such as housing loans and amortization of borrowings from the federal government for which individual arrangements are made, the Yukon government in the year ended March 31, 1973 spent \$27.3 million on operating accounts and another \$10.6 million on capital projects. Of the total expenditure, the territorial government raised \$8.2 million locally and recovered another \$11.7 million from the federal government via sharedcost programs. The remainder was provided by the federal government under its financial agreement with the Territory.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Yukon Territory as at December 31, 1973 Commissioner, J. Smith Clerk of the Council, Linda J. Adams Legal Adviser, P. O'Donoghue Executive Committee: J. Smith, chairman; F.B. Fingland, vice-chairman and member; M.E. Miller, Hilda Watson, Clive Tanner, members; Linda J. Adams, secretary

Members of the Council: Hilda Watson, Mike Stutter, Donald E. Taylor, Ronald A. Rivett, Norman S. Chamberlist, Clive Tanner, John Kenneth McKinnon.

3.3.2.2 Northwest Territories

The Temporary Government Act of 1869 was the first legislation by the federal government to establish government in the newly acquired Rupert's Land and North-Western Territory. However, functional territorial government really dates from the North-West Territories Act of 1875. The creation of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905 and the adjustment of the northern boundaries of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec by 1912 pushed the Northwest Territories north of the 60th parallel. The 1905 legislation provided for a federally appointed Commissioner with wide executive and legislative powers and a Council of four, but no councillors were appointed for 16 years. In 1921 the Council was expanded to six members and, until the first appointment of a territorial resident in 1946, it was composed entirely of senior federal officials.

Defence early warning systems, radio and greatly improved air transportation after World War II ended the extreme isolation of the North and pressures for improved territorial government soon followed. Legislative changes in 1951 and 1952 increased Council membership to eight, three of them elected from the Mackenzie District. A fourth was added in 1954. At least two Council sessions were required to be held in a year, one in the Territories and all others at the seat of government in Ottawa. The subjects on which the Commissioner in Council could legislate were increased to approximate those of the provincial legislatures except that natural resources other than game were reserved to the federal government. A Territorial Court was established in 1952.